Dean of the Year


Beta Gamma Sigma recognizes the best in business through our programs, awards, and events. Now we want to recognize those individuals who play a leading role in Beta Gamma Sigma members becoming the best in business: our deans.

The Dean of the Year Award is a new recognition awarded by Beta Gamma Sigma to an outstanding dean who made both outstanding contributions to the success of their chapter and supported the Beta Gamma Sigma mission throughout the course of this academic year.

Beta Gamma Sigma invites our Highest Honors Chapters to nominate their Deans to be honored as a recipient of the Dean of the Year Award.



Dean and Professor of Management, College of Business
Lamar University

Enrique (Henry) R. Venta has served as Dean of the College of Business at Lamar University since 2002. His teaching and research activities take place in areas such as strategic issues in operations, work systems design, total quality management, and clinical decision making. He received his Ph.D. and M.S. degrees in Management Science and Economics from Northwestern University and a B.S. degree in Industrial Engineering from the University of Puerto Rico.

Dr. Venta invests in the chapter leadership by funding the travel for both the Chapter Advisor and Administrator to attend Collegiate Chapter Training Seminars. He is a strong Beta Gamma Sigma advocate and constantly works to engage the members of his chapter. Each year, Dr. Venta enthusiastically serves as the emcee for their Founders Day ceremony, which takes place at their BGS Bronze Key on campus. Dr. Venta also encourages tapping ceremonies to take place within the classroom, increasing BGS recognition and prestige on-campus and making each invitation more special.

Dr. Venta plays an active role in developing BGS members as students and professional leaders beyond the grounds of Lamar University. He fully funded four Lamar students’ attendance at the 2016 Global Leadership Summit in Dallas, TX. In support of the altruism encouraged by the BGS Gives Back program, he also encouraged students to volunteer at the Southeast Texas Foodbank in 2016.

To commemorate leadership and excellence while encouraging and honoring the academic achievements of Lamar’s BGS members, Dr. Venta holds an annual essay contest covering the importance of BGS’ values and awards the winner a $500 scholarship at each recognition ceremony.

Beta Gamma Sigma is honored to have such a passionate ambassador representing the true spirit of the society.


You may submit a letter of recommendation addressed to Denise Cage, Associate Director of Programs and Events. Your letter of recommendation must reference the following:

  • Instances in which the dean took a leadership role in moving the chapter towards BGS.
  • Instances in which the dean encouraged and honored academic achievements by chapter members.
  • Instances in which the dean developed Beta Gamma Sigma members as student and professional leaders.
  • Instances in which the dean celebrated continuing leadership and excellence.

The deadline for submissions is January 27, 2017. You may also include supplemental documentation to highlight points made in your letter of recommendation but materials are limited to two supporting documents per nomination.

Should you have any questions or require further information regarding the Dean of the Year Award, please contact Denise Cage at